Scene and Heard

Van Halen Opens Tour at KFC Yum Center

Posted in Entertainment by sceneandheardblog on February 20, 2012

Van Halen Opens Tour at KFC Yum Center

Van Halen opened their forty year reunion tour  at the KFC Yum Center, in Louisville, KY to support their first album with David Lee Roth  in twenty eight years, ” A Different Kind of Truth”.

Kool and The Gang warmed the packed venue playing an entertaining set from their catalogue of disco mega hits from the eighties. But this night was  not about  disco, fans  dressed in memorabilia from the bands past tours were there to witness the rock legends return to the stage.

As the lights went on, the heavy opening chords of “You Really Got Me” rang out. From the start it was loud and clear, Van Halen was back with all the power of the past. “Running With The Devil”,  followed and erased any doubt that Eddie Van Halen is still one of rock’s greatest guitarist. His powerful sound was filled with lighting fast notes and heavy chords played flawlessly. It is clear to see why he was voted eighth in Rolling Stone Magazine’s top 100 all time guitarist.

Brother and a founding member Alex Van Halen is an outstanding drummer. The bass is now handled by Eddie’s son, Wolfgang, who replaced original bassist , Michael Anthony. It was clear that father and son enjoy performing together.

One question I do have,  Where the keyboards came from on “Jump”? I didn’t see the instrument on stage, if it was a recording the synch was done perfectly.

David Lee Roth can still entertain. His vocals were strong although he stayed away from his memorable screams of the past. His leg kicks are few and far between but his dancing and showmanship doesn’t miss a beat. He  covers the massive stage, including  runway and several risers throughout the show. He even glossed over forgetting the words to the last chorus of ” I’ll Wait” singing, “ I forgot the words bring on the chorus”

It is no secret that the Van Halen’s and Roth have had their issues through the years, it didn’t show on this night. The band seemed to be having fun and interactions between Roth,Wolfgang and Eddie Van ended in smiles and laughter. The band covered the majority of their biggest hits, sprinkled in a few early songs along with four songs from the new album. Even with  “The Cradle Will Rock” and songs from the Sammy Hagar era left out. This show was a classic! Although this was their opening performance, it’s hard to imagine the band getting any tighter!  They played and sang every note  to perfection.

If these guys can hold on to the the energy and their health as the tour progresses it’s one show you don’t want to miss!

For more photos :

2012 Louisville Set List

Eddie Van Hale

1. You Really Got Me
2. Runnin’ With The Devil
3. She’s The Woman (NEW)
4. Romeo Delight
5. Tattoo (NEW)
6. Everybody Wants Some!!
7. Somebody Get Me A Doctor
8. China Town (NEW)
9. Mean Street
10. (Oh!) Pretty Woman
11. Drum Solo
12. Unchained
13. The Trouble With Never (NEW)
14. I’ll Wait
15. Dance The Night Away
16. Hot For Teacher
17. Women In Love (A First since 1980!)
18. Outta Love Again (A First since 1979!)
19. Beautiful Girls
20. Ice Cream Man
21. Panama
22. Eddie’s Solo
23. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
24. Jump

Van Halen Opens Tour at KFC Yum Center Alex Van Halen