Scene and Heard

Queen, The Script, Fraser T. Smith & More Honored at 2011 BMI London Awards

Posted in Entertainment by sceneandheardblog on October 6, 2011

Queen, The Script, Fraser T. Smith & More Honored
at 2011 BMI London Awards
American performing right organization Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) celebrated Europe and Asia’s premier songwriters, composers and music publishers during its annual BMI London Awards held on Tuesday, October 4. Guests filled London’s Dorchester Hotel, Park Lane to toast the past year’s most-performed songs on U.S. radio and television.
Songwriters and composers honored at the event are members of European and Asian performing right societies and are represented in the U.S. by BMI. 
Legendary rock band Queen were honored as BMI Icons. All songwriters, vocalist Freddie Mercury, guitarist Brian May, drummer Roger Taylor and bassist John Deacon join a list of previous honorees that includes Donovan, Peter Gabriel, Don Black, Bryan Ferry, Ray Davies, Van Morrison and more.
The Script’s “Breakeven” earned the BMI Robert S. Musel Award for Song of the Year. Andrew Frampton (PRS) and band members Daniel O’Donoghue (PRS/IMRO) and Mark Sheehan (PRS/IMRO) co-wrote the song, which was published by BMG Chrysalis (PRS). “Breakeven” is from the Irish band’s top-selling eponymous album.
Taio Cruz’s “Break Your Heart,” co-written by Fraser T. Smith and published by BMG Chrysalis (PRS), garnered the College Song of the Year win. “Stereo Love, written and recorded by Romanian musician Edward Maya (PRS/UCMR-ADA) and Vika Jigulina (PRS), claimed Dance Song of the Year. The infectious club hit is published by Media Services International (UCMR-ADA).

In addition to celebrating the writers of most-performed songs in the U.S. during the past year, BMI presented awards to the composers of the most-watched and highest-grossing television programs and films; and the songwriters behind hits that have generated more than three million U.S. radio and television performances. For a complete list of 2011 BMI London Awards winners, visit
Del Bryant, BMI President & CEO; Phil Graham, BMI Senior Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations; and Brandon Bakshi, Executive Director, Writer/Publisher Relations, Europe & Asia hosted the ceremony.
Photo and video footage, including interviews, performances and the Icon acceptance speech can be accessed via the official EPKlink:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: